The Myanmar Scarf Project

My wonderful in-laws are going on their second mission trip to Myanmar in a little over a month, and I’m trying to donate to the cause. I don’t have a lot of money, but I have had a fair bit of time to spare. 

From what my in-laws have told me, the people of Myanmar are wonderful and beautiful, but the country is third-world — impoverished and many villages are in need of clothing and other supplies. My mother-in-law is limited on space, but I’m knitting several scarves to send with her.

Here’s what I’m working on now:

img_4762

I love volunteering for things, but it has always been hard to find time to go places and volunteer with the out-of-class commitment required for my day job (think grading, parent phone calls, etc.). However, this is something I can work on from the comfort of my own home, doing something that I love and that relaxes me, within the few hours I have to spare each week.

One day, I want to be one of those people with the level of time and money that permit me to go see these beautiful places and do beautiful things for the beautiful people in those beautiful places. For now, I’m learning to be satisfied with finding a way to help people with the time and money I have now.

So, tell me. How do you give back? I’d love to hear!

One thought on “The Myanmar Scarf Project

Leave a Reply

